

NEWS RELEASE

April 25, 2015

APEGA announces new president, executive and councillors

Edmonton – The Association of Professional Engineers and Geoscientists of Alberta (APEGA) is proud to announce that Connie Parenteau, P.Eng., has been named APEGA president at the 2015 Summit Annual General Meeting and Conference held in Calgary on Friday, April 24.

Parenteau, a professional engineer, holds a B.Sc. in electrical engineering and has had a 33-year career with TELUS Communications where she held various technical, managerial and leadership positions. She worked on key initiatives such as TELUS TV and Next Generation Networks.

Parenteau will lead APEGA's new executive committee that includes newly elected presidentelect Steve E. Hrudey, P.Eng., PhD and vice-president Nima Dorjee, P.Eng. Colin Yeo, P.Geo., will continue in the role of past-president.

APEGA also welcomes newly elected council members Jeff DiBattista, P.Eng., PhD; Jennifer Enns, P.Eng.; John Rhind, P.Geol.; and Art Washuta, P.Eng.

Council members resuming their term are Lisa Doig, P.Eng.; George Eynon, P.Geo.; Brad Hayes, P.Geol.; Wenona Irving, P.Eng.; Paul Knowles, P.Eng.; Mahsoo Naderi-Dasoar, P.Eng.; Craig McFarland, P.Eng.; and Terry Waters, P.Eng.

Established in 1920, APEGA is responsible for regulating the practices of professional engineering and geoscience in Alberta. The association's more than 75,000 members play a significant role in every segment of the economy and their technical and management expertise ensure Alberta remains at the forefront of technological innovation.

- 30 -

Biography backgrounders attached

Note: photos of council members are available by emailing mpawlowski@apega.ca

For more information, please contact:

Philip Mulder, APR Director, Communications, APEGA

Cell: 780-499-3873 Office: 780-426-3990 E-mail: pmulder@apega.ca